1376. By provinces the increased number of churches is distributed as follows:—

Provinces.	Baptists	Roman Catho- lics.	Church of England	Methodists.	Presby- terians.	Others.
Prince Edward Island	16		1	1	15	2
Nova Scotia	71	18	54	75	38	b10
New Brunswick	81	28	28	58	26	<i>b</i> 3
Quebec ,	11	113	37	38	42	b13
Ontario	126	98	217	55	181	47
Manitoba	14	18	30	50	61	30
British Columbia	4	7	26	24	8	30 5
North-west Territories	1	19	22	21	40	<i>b</i> 3
Total	324	301	415	322	411	55

bDecrease.

1377. The Roman Catholic Church in Canada has one Cardinal, seven Archbishops, twenty-three Bishops, and about 1,500 clergy. The Church of England has two Metropolitans and seventeen bishops and about 1,000 clergy. The first colonial see established in the British Empire was that of Nova Scotia, 1787. In 1793 the Canadas were erected into a separate See. In 1839 the See of Toronto was established. In 1849, Rupert's land received its first Anglican Bishop, and British Columbia received its first in 1859. New Brunswick became a See, independent of Nova Scotia, in 1845.

1378. The Methodists were first united into one ecclesiastical organization in Canada in 1883. The Presbyterians became united as the Presbyterian Church in Canada in 1875.

1379. The census returns showed that the number of clergymen of all churches in Canada, in 1891, was 7,164, an increase of 735 in the ten years.

1380. Under the British North American Act, 1867, the right to legislate on matters respecting education was placed in the hands of the Governments of the several provinces, the rights and privileges of denominational and separate schools then existing being specially protected.

1381. The census returns of education are given in paragraphs 211-226. The same returns gave 112 Universities and classical